Home >> Company Information

Company Information

Ability West is a Company Limited by Guarantee and is Registered in Ireland, No. 41317.  Ability West’s registered office is Blackrock House, Salthill, Galway.  Éirim An Iarthair is a Registered Business Name of Ability West.

Ability West is certified by the Revenue Commissioners as a Charity, No. CHY 6306.

Board Of Directors

Ability West is a voluntary organisation governed by a Board of Directors.  The Board of Directors comprises of elected and co-opted Board Members.  Board Members are elected through our Regional Structure; two per region, one of whom must be a family member of a service user.  Refer to our /Memorandum and Articles of Association/(link).  The Directors are non-executive and offer their services on a voluntary basis.

Within the Board’s broad governance role are a number of specific roles that are exercised, including: approval of the Strategic Plan, reporting to Members at the Annual General Meeting and passing bye-laws which are subject to approval by the Members.  The Board has three reserved functions: appointment of the CEO, approval of annual budget, acquisition and disposal of company assets and overall corporate governance. 

The Board of Directors of Ability West has signed up to The Governance Code for Community, Voluntary and Charitable Organisations.  They have also signed up to the Statement Guiding Principles for Fundraising. 

Board of Directors:    

Marie O’Dowd
Jack King,
Vice Chairperson
Ray Kelly,

Kevin Flavin
Hon. Treasurer

Aly.Muldowney Paddy Daly
Frank Hannon Mary Lally Páraic Lawless Anthony O’Connor Mary O’Mahony  
Breda Crehan-Roche,
Chief Executive and Company Secretary

For further information please contact the office of the Chief Executive and Company Secretary at ceo@abilitywest.ie.

Board Committee


Finance Committee

The Finance Committee monitors the financial affairs of the organisation on behalf of the Board of Directors.

The Finance Committee comprises of Kevin Flavin, Chairperson, Breda Crehan-Roche, Páraic Lawless, John McHugo, Marie O’Dowd and Mary O’Mahony.


Audit Committee

The Audit Committee’s main functions are to review the effectiveness of the company’s system of internal control and any proposed amendments; to monitor the performance and quality of the external auditor’s work and the auditor’s independence from the company; to advise the Board on the appointment of the external auditor, the audit fee, and issues relating to the resignation or dismissal of auditor or on any matters arising of concern to the auditor.

The Audit Committee comprises of four members: Paddy Daly, Chairperson, Kevin Flavin, Jack King and Gerry Walsh.